Who is the qualification for?

The BIIAB PBP is a professional development programme that delivers real business benefits for experienced licensed retailers and key staff who want to improve their skills.

Although each unit is an individually certificated stand-alone qualification, BIIAB PBP is also a nationally accredited series of qualifications and on successful completion of specified units, candidates may achieve the following nationally recognised qualifications: the BIIAB Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Licensed Hospitality (ACLH) and the BIIAB Level 3 Diploma in Licensed Hospitality (DLH).

The programme is aimed at experienced licensed retailers owning or managing businesses, such as:

  • pubs
  • bars
  • hotels
  • restaurants
  • night-clubs
Download PDF factsheet for full details

What does the assessment involve?

The BIIAB PBP consists of three core units and 11 optional units. On successful completion of the three core units candidates will achieve the BIIAB ACLH. Successful completion of an additional four of the11optional units will lead to the achievement of the BIIAB DLH.

The three core units which lead to the BIIAB ACLH are:

  • UNIT1 Profit & loss, and budget control
  • UNIT 2 Understanding your market
  • UNIT 3 Motivating your team

Candidates who achieve these units and then go on to successfully complete four optional units will be awarded the BIIAB DLH. Candidates can choose from the following optional units:

  • UNIT 4 Customer service procedures
  • UNIT 5 Training design and delivery
  • Unit 6 Sales promotions
  • UNIT 7 Business planning
  • UNIT 8 Merchandising and selling
  • UNIT 9 Introducing a new catering offer
  • UNIT 10 Managing Capital Expenditure
  • UNIT 11 Stock control
  • UNIT 12 Improving your catering operation
  • UNIT 13 Recruitment and employment practice
  • UNIT 14 Accommodation control

The the training is often delivered in a single day, but supported with self-study. There is a one-hour examination for each unit.